Weight Comparison: 2010 versus 2017

Wow, my last post was 20th September 2011 and my first was 5th August 2010. In my very first post, I noted that my weight at the time was 77.5 kg and that I’d like to get it down to the low 70’s. Well, my weight has been hovering around 65 kg for quite some time now and today in fact it was exactly that, according the scales in the local Chemist shop. That’s a drop of 12.5 kg, representing a decrease of over 16% in my body weight at that time.

That’s a significant change. I titled this blog “Staying Healthy” and I’ll continue on with that theme. Apart from my daily walk, the only other exercise I undertake is a stretching routine with a little strength building for the biceps and triceps. It’s not much but it’s become a fairly regular routine that I can build upon if I want to. In its current form, the movements within the routine are slow and controlled. It’s reminiscent of Tai Chi and I have become interested in that again. I’ve downloaded a couple of primers and of course there are a great many YouTube videos that offer instruction as well. I would like to build more elements of Tai Chi into my routines.

The best way to do this I feel is little by little. I can refer to books and videos for ideas and just incorporate these into my daily routine. For example, this is taken from page 81 of Ray Pawlett’s “The Tai Chi Handbook”:

Tai chi walking can be regarded as a kind of meditation. When you practice tai chi walking, your attention is directed toward your feet. When you concentrate on your footwork, it is difficult to be in the kind of mental state when you keep going over things in your mind. In other words, you become more grounded.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 8.35.41 pm

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 8.39.04 pm

This is as good a place to start as any, because walking is a fairly basic activity. I’ll try this to begin with and see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

